LECTURES

The church presents a series of Friday evening lectures of general interest. The programme for 2017 is as follows:

Fri Jan 27

 

 

"Making Sense of the Scillies"
 By Pete Gray

 


Fri Feb 24

 

 

"The Gardens of Chatsworth, Then and Now"
 By Steve Porter, Head Gardener at Chatsworth

 


Fri Mar 31

 

 

"Backpacking in Alaska and the Ukon"
 By Albert Hattersley

 


Fri Apr 28

 

"Life in Rural Himalayan Nepal"
 By Rob Barron

A donation will go to the Rotary's Fishtail Fund.

 


Fri May 19

 

 

" 'The Sleeping Beauty': The Abandoned Cromford Canal fand Tribulations of its Restoration"
 By Mike Kelley

 


Fri June 30

 

 

"South Yorkshire's Industrial Heritage"
 By Patrick McLaughlin

 


Fri July 28

 

 

 "The Funny Side of the Law"

 By Dick Williams, former solicitor and judge

 


Fri Aug 25

 

 

"Coast to Coast Walk, St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay"
 By Andy Firth

 


Fri Sept 29

 

 

"Flora and Fauna of the Leabrook Valley"
 By Norman Crowson, local wildlife photographer

 


Fri Oct 27

 

"The Centenary of the Russian Revolution 1917-2017"
 By Ann Brown, local historian

 


 

Lectures begin at 7.30 pm. Price of admission is  £3.50, including refreshments after the lecture.

Proceeds from the lectures will go to church funds and to selected charities. In Spring 2017, donations from the proceeds will go to the National Eczema Society.

The church has disabled access and facilities and a hearing loop.

Penguin in Antarctica
One of the stunning slides from Mike Chadwick's recent lecture
"Land of the Penguins"

   

 

To book tickets in advance, contact Sylvia Thompstone:

T    01246 414 847
E    enquiries@coalastonmethodist.org.uk